ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule announced, India takes Pakistan on October 15

The Men’s ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule has been announced, and the excitement is building up. The tournament will span across 46 days, starting from October 5 and concluding on November 20. The fixtures list has been released, revealing the 10 venues that will host this mega event.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule: Narendra Modi Stadium will host the inauguration match

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule
ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule

The journey begins with a thrilling match on October 5 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, where England and New Zealand face off in a rematch of the 2019 Final. It’s a chance for England to seek redemption and start the tournament on a high note.

The host nation, India, will kickstart their campaign on October 8 in Chennai, where they take on the formidable five-time World Cup champions, Australia. It promises to be a clash of titans as both teams aim for a strong start.
A total of 10 teams will participate in this showcase event. Eight teams have already qualified through the Cricket World Cup Super League, while the final two spots will be decided at the end of the Qualifier tournament in Zimbabwe, concluding on July 9.

The teams will engage in a round-robin format, playing each other nine times. The top four teams from the group stage will advance to the knockout stage and battle it out in the semi-finals.

Now, let’s dive into some key fixtures of the ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule:

Australia and South Africa will lock horns on October 13 in Lucknow, hoping for a different outcome than their last dramatic encounter in the previous edition, which favored the Proteas.

The highly anticipated India-Pakistan clash is scheduled for Sunday, October 15 in Ahmedabad. The last time these two teams met in the 2019 World Cup, it was a thrilling high-scoring match that saw India emerge victorious in Manchester.

Pakistan will face Australia in Bengaluru on October 20, while England takes on South Africa the following day in Mumbai.

India seeks redemption against New Zealand on October 22 in Dharamsala, aiming to avenge their semi-final defeat from the 2019 edition.

Meanwhile, Australia will face their arch-rivals England on November 4 in Ahmedabad, recalling their dominant performance that propelled them to the final four years ago.

On October 29, India will have a chance to settle the score with England in Lucknow after their defeat in the semi-final of the 2022 T20 World Cup.

The final group stage match will see England go head-to-head with Pakistan in Kolkata on November 12.

The knockout stages will set the stage for intense battles:

The first semi-final will take place on Wednesday, November 15 in Mumbai, followed by the second semi-final on the next day in Kolkata. Both matches will have a reserve day to account for any unforeseen circumstances.

The grand finale will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19, with November 20 designated as the reserve day. The atmosphere will be electric as the top two teams compete for cricket glory.

All three knockout fixtures will be day-night affairs, commencing at 14:00 local time, ensuring a captivating spectacle for fans around the world.

The tournament will take place across 10 venues:

Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Dharamsala, Delhi, Chennai, Lucknow, Pune, Bengaluru, Mumbai, and Kolkata. Additionally, Guwahati and Thiruvananthapuram, alongside Hyderabad, will host the warm-up matches.

Leave a Comment